S.E.A. Write Awards 2011: Winner

The National Book Development Council of Singapore (NBDCS) is proud to announce Mr Robert Yeo as the winner of the S.E.A. Write Award (Singapore) 2011.

Robert Yeo, a highly acclaimed poet, playwright and cultural critic, has contributed significantly to Singapore literature. He has published poems, a novel, written essays on cultural policy and edited anthologies on Singaporean writing for general readers as well as for secondary schools.  His collection of plays, The Singapore Trilogy was published in 2001. He was awarded the Public Service Medal in 1991 for “the promotion of drama”.

Currently, he is an adjunct Professor in Creative Writing at the Singapore Management University, after retiring as Associate Professor at the National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University.

The South East Asian Writers Awards, or S.E.A. Write Award, was established to recognise and honour literary excellence in the ASEAN region. Based in Bangkok, the awards are presented   annually since 1979 to leading poets and writers. The ten countries which comprise the ASEAN region are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The uniqueness of this award is that the awardees are selected by their own peers in each of the ten ASEAN countries. The award maybe awarded for a specific work by an author or for lifetime achievement. The categories and types of works include poetry, short stories, novels, plays, folklore and scholarly and religious works. Entries are accepted only from authors who are still living.

Some of the previous winners from Singapore include: Philip Jeyaretnam (2003); Soon Ai Ling (2004); P. Krishnan (2005); Isa Kamari (2006); Rex Shelley (2007); Stella Kon (2008); Chia Hwee Pheng (2009) and Johar Bin Buang (2010).   

A list of other ASEAN winners during this period is available at the NBDCS website at www.bookcouncil.sg/_writers/SEA_write_awards.php

The Award presentation ceremony will be held in Bangkok, Thailand from 13-17 February 2012. The winner will receive a commemorative plaque, cash and a week with all expenses paid vacation to Thailand.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s