Singapore Literature Prize (SLP) 2010: Winners

The winners of the Singapore Literature Prize (SLP) 2010 were announced during the Award Ceremony & Dinner on 10 December 2010. The awards were presented by Guest-of-Honour, Mr. Lui Tuck Yew, Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts.

The Singapore Literature Prize (SLP) 2010 is organised by the National Book Development Council of Singapore (NBDCS) with the support of the National Arts Council, the National Library Board and The Arts House. The SLP aims to achieve two objectives:

• To promote the Singapore literary talent through due recognition to outstanding published works by Singapore  authors in any of the four official languages: English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil.

• To stimulate public interest and support for creative writing in Singapore.

This prestigious writing award carries a cash prize of S$10,000 for the winner and is given to one outstanding published work in each of the four languages – English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil. SLP 2010, opened to Singapore  citizens and Permanent Residents, is awarded for works of fiction (novels and short stories) and poetry published between January 2008 and December 2009. This biennial competition received a total of 59 titles for the four languages: 23 English titles, 15 Chinese titles, 11 Malay titles and 10 Tamil titles.

Singapore Literature Prize 2010: Winners

English category: City of Small Blessings (Novel) by Simon Tay

Chinese category (co-winners): M40 (Novel) by 谢裕民 (Chia Joo Ming) and 半存在 (A Half-Existence, Poetry) by 吴耀宗 (Gabriel Wu)

Malay category: Sampai di Singgahsana Cinta (Poetry) by Johar Buang

Tamil category: Sangamam (Poetry) by Murugathasan

Singapore Literature Prize 2010: Judging Committee

Chairman: Prof. Edwin Thumboo

Deputy Chairman: Mr. Arun Mahizhnan

English Category: Ms. Meira Chand (Chief Judge), Mr. Felix Cheong and Ms. Angelia Poon

Chinese Category: Dr. Chua Chee Lay (Chief Judge), Mdm. Tham Yew Chin and Mr. Peh Chon Seang

Malay Category: Dr. Kamsiah Abdullah (Chief Judge), Mr. Mohamed Latiff Mohamed and Dr. Abdul Rahman Napiah

Tamil Category: Mr. Rama Kannabiran (Chief Judge), Dr. Seetha Lakshmi and Ms. K Kanagalatha

For further enquiries, please contact:

Jade Yong

Manager, Marketing Communications

National Book Development Council of Singapore

DID: 6848 8292



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s